Gaetano en América del Sur

unBOLIVIAble times in Bolivia!

In my last post I forgot to educate you guys a little bit! I'll make it up to you right now: The last mountain I climbed, Nevado Sajama, as I told you is the highest mountain and puts Bolivia with this on the 13th place on the Country Highpoint list! (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_highest_point) Furthermore this mountain has the highest tree-line on the world and lies around 5,000m.

Back in La Paz I met one of my fellow volunteers from Trujillo in my hostel and after a great night I decided to ride the Death road. This is a world famous road where you mountainbike down about 60km pure downhill on, as it is called, the world's most dangerous road! It caries this name, because it is only large enough for one car and on the left side it is delimited by a vertical drop up to 600m!! You better do not miss one of the many corners! Averagely two tourists a year die on this road while mountainbiking it down. Luckily now they have opened a new road called 'the live road', so all traffic is deviated over that one and we can MTB safely down without having to dodge upcoming trucks.

The Death road starts at an altitude of 4,650m and brings you after about 60km down to the town of Yolosita which has an elevation of 1,200m!! I decided to stay here, because it already brought me a little closer to the jungle, so I decided to spend the night in the lovely town of Coroico. Sadly it was still horribly foggy and it was impossible to see across the little central plaza.

The next day I found myself trapped in the back on a tiny dirty seat of the worst chicken-bus ever on the worst road ever! After about 15 very long hours where it was impossible to sleep, I made it to Rurrenabaque! Still early the lost French guy in town that has the only and probably best bakery in whole South America just opened and I ate all I could of his delicious croissants and other pastries in the middle of the bloody jungle!! About an hour later I was sitting with two Croatian women on a little boat going deep into the jungle.

The following days we spend wandering around in the amazingly interesting jungle. We saw some wild boars, monkeys, millions of insects and spiders, birds, but especially the jungle trek is about trees and plants! Our guide was about the best you can have, he's an indigenous descendant and on top of that he studied to know every plant or blade of grass by name! He's that good that he can't get lost into the jungle! We walked for hours without knowing where we went, but he still brought us safely back to campsite.

He showed us plants and lianes that cure all kinds of 'incureable' diseases (that's what the western world tells us) but there are plants, combined with special diets that can cure: cancer, malaria, impotence, paralysis, arthritis, asthma and many others. There are probably many non-believers among you, but if one day I get one of these many diseases, I'll definitely try one of these treatments!

After having chopped our way through this wonderful jungle for a couple of days, I took a 50 minute plane back to the city of peace, instead of sitting for 20h on the crappiest bus! Sadly due to some protest that is going on around Potosí, the whole country is paralysed by their road-blocks! I had to change my plans rapidly and decided to make my way to the sugartown: Sucre! This is considered the real capital of Bolivia, because of the fact that the declaration of independence was signed here. I have no idea where mister Evo Morales (the president) is residing though.

Sucre is also known as the 'Ciudad Blanca' (White City) and this not without a reason! About 99% of the houses is painted white! Painters are massively lacking in originality here! Furthermore is Sucre famous for its chocolate, dinosaurs, churches and.. not much more. So I decided to relax here for a couple of days and in two hours I'm catching a bus that is trying to make its way around all the road-blocks to Villazón, bordertown with Argentina, where I should arrive tomorrow around noon to catch another bus to Salta!

Yet again I'm saying goodbye to another country and adding two stamps to my passport. In two weeks I set back foot on my homeland. For the moment not really ready for it, but it'll come!

Enjoy the last weeks without me there!!

G. on the road!

New load of pictures for who wants:

Volunteering in Trujillo and Around:http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=186808&id=634868429&l=c14549de11

Huayhuash: Second best hike in the world: http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=189455&id=634868429&l=4d82446381

Hasta luego Peru: http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=190162&id=634868429&l=eae198d882

unBOLIVIAble times in Bolivia: http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=195265&id=634868429&l=500f6192aa

Reacties

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!