Gaetano en América del Sur

Colombia, el único riesgo es que te quieras quedar!!

Colombia, the only risk is that you will want to stay. This is the slogan of Colombia and I totally agree!! I am now in Quito and I left that beautiful country early this morning!

Now what happened the last days/weeks?! A lot of crazy and fun stuff! Lets start of where I left: Medellin! The city of the gorgeous women, Botero and Don Pablo Escobar! Gorgeous women were not that gorgeous, so I was quite disappointed. Botero on the other hand fulfilled my expectations! A whole museum with his paintings called: Hombre, Hombre y Caballo, Mujer, Frutero,... And they all represent what they are supposed to but only in a very fat way! Then I missed out on the Pablo Escobar tour, so that was also quite sad. But to compensate the sadness we spent a whole day in a huge waterpark just out of town with awesome slides! (pictures and movies later)

After Medellin I went down to the coffee region with an American Couple. We went to Salento which is known for its palmtree forest which is unique in the world and of course the coffee finca's. (farms) Sadly enough I didn't do any of these, because I was meeting up with Lina and a friend of hers in Cartago nearby for a long weekend. I'm not going to write too much about it, most of you already heard bits and pieces. It was all about a big family party out of town in a huge mansion owned by the man of the cousin of the friend of my friend. (Here everybody is your friend, you can't compare life here with at home) So the main attraction of the party was a man who was hired to slaughter a pig and we were supposed to eat it. Shortly said it was delicious! The man even made the best (and fresh) blood sausage EVER! The owner of the mansion is the brother of a 'bad boy' whose name I'm not putting up here, because I don't want the CIA to read my blog and track me down. If you want to know, the guy is in jail in the states for life. So you can imagine which kind of business he is into and why the family is loaded.

So after that amazing weekend I continued my road down the PanAmericana to Cali Caliente where the slogan goes: 'Plastic is fantastic!' . The city of Cali is seen as the world leader in plastic surgery and the results are quite stunning and can be openly seen on the streets! Fake asses, boobs and noses are the only pretty thing about this city and that's why I left after a day to Popayan more to the south. In this little town all the houses are colonial style and painted in white. Quite pretty, but after 2 hours you have seen it, so the day after I left for San Agustin.

A six hour busride over the worst road in Colombia! Full of rocks, holes and bumps that lead you through some FARC region to this pearl of a town in the middle of nothing. Military buildings along the road have metal nets over their roofs so granates won't hit them. This is how bad it can be in these regions! Once in San Agustin it was safe. The hostel was amazing and because the owner is a french guy he loved me immediately and I could celebrate his wife's birthday with them. But after a glass of good wine and some desert I went back to my friends who weren't invited..

The first day we went for a jeeptour around the region to visit the Archeological(UNESCO) sites, some amazing waterfalls and a roosterfight arena. (One of the two things I wanted to see. The next is some cage fighting in Brasil!) The second day we went rafting down the Rio Magdalena, which was a very cool experience!

This was my ultimate day in Colombia before the 24hour busride that brought me here in Quito!

If you want to see the road I travelled so far, check out the 'KAART' tab above.

Pictures will follow one of these days!

Ciao,

G. on the road

Reacties

Reacties

Lies

Gaetan, ge moet daar ni achter schoon vrouwen zoeken :)
Die heb je achter gelaten in België :):p

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!