Gaetano en América del Sur

Cotopaxi - 5,897 m

Hey all!

This is a big moment now, I'm on the verge of one of the biggest achievements in my life. Tomorrow morning I leave Quito for a three day hike.

The first day we will climb up the Mt. Illiniza Sur (5,248 m) and on Friday night around 11pm I will attempt to climb the Mt. Cotopaxi which is 5,897 m high. I will be accompagnied by Bratt, a Canadian guy I met at breakfast in the hostel that also wanted to climb the Mt. Cotopaxi. We have a very professional guide that will show us the way up.

Two days ago I did some acclimatization and hiked up the Mt. Pichincha (4,784 m). Normally you can take a cable car up to 4,100 m, but due to unknown reasons they did not open it in the morning, so I had to start hiking from 2,700 m. Around 4,000 m you start to feel that breathing gets harder and your steps become half as large.

Because the cable car was closed, I was the only person on the mountain. The last 50m were pure vertical climbing and for that reason I did not make it to the top.. I stopped at about 15 m from the top, because it was getting way to difficult and what you climb up, you have to climb down. So I wisely decided toclimb back down, because I did not have the appropriate gear and because there was a huge abyss behind me..

Back at 4,100 m I hoped the cable car would work by 2pm as they promised in the morning, but unfortunatelyagain for unknown reasons it was not open. I had to hike down to Quito when it started to hail and poor down rain. Soaked I got back at the hostel for a 12 hour sleep!

I hope all goes well and that we make it to the top. You hear stories about people coughing up blood, altitude headaches, freezing feet, ... So a lot can happen to prevent us getting on top of the highest active volcano in the world! I think the top is further away from the centre of the earth than the top of the Mt. Everest is! (For those who don't get this: the earth is not a perfect ball!)

Saturday or you'll get the news if we made it or not. I have never tested my body as severely as this. May God guide us up there!

Vaya con dios!

G. on the road

LINKS TO PICTURES:

Bogota:

http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=123215&id=634868429&l=031ac4d6ce

Medellín to Equador:

http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=126382&id=634868429&l=f024bc4130

Reacties

Reacties

Lyli

Bonsoir mon Gaetan. Merci pour toutes les photos que tu nous fais parvenir. Pour faire une randonnée jusqu'à 4000 m, il faut de l'expérience et ne pas prendre de risque avec la santé en voulant en faire trop. Dans ce genre d'expédition il faut y aller progressivement donc qui va piano va ..... Tu vois Mama lorsqu'elle va lire ton message sur cette escalade... Tu vas presque toucher le ciel... Pleins de gros bisous et à bientôt sur ton blog

Zus

Gaat uw gids uw bagage dragen? :o)
Wees voorzichtig he zo dicht bij de hemel!
Ik stuur u een van dees nog wel een mail. Dinsdag is trouwens een officiële weekenddag voor mij, remember? Dus geen extra conge! Wel skiën in februari.
Be safe! xx

Michel

J'ai oublié de te rappeler la fête de LiLY à la date d'hier mais tu y as surement pensé!
Cela fait vraiment plaisir de recevoir de tes nouvelles.
Tu te rapproches de l'au-delà, fais gaffe.
J'ai besoin de lest pour naviguer sur le flibustier.
On se réjouit de te revoir, mais malheureusement, cela veut dire que ton aventure sera derrière toi.
Profites ... avec modération, tu en es capable.
Asta la vista

Michel

lyli

Et cette expérience où en est-elle ??? Et tes poumons, ils ne souffrent pas trop après une telle expérience ??? Comme dit Michel, nous attendons tous ton retour mais en attendant reçois pleins de gros bisous

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!